People

June 2021

PRINCIPAL INVESTIGATOR
Christopher Monroe [c.monroe@duke.edu]

RESEARCH PROFESSOR
Alexander Kozhanov [alexander.kozhanov@duke.edu]

POSTDOCTORAL ASSOCIATES
George Toh [george.toh@duke.edu]
Mikhail Shalaev [mikhail.shalaev@duke.edu]
Or Katz [or.katz@duke.edu]
Yichao Yu [yichao.yu@duke.edu]
Liudmila Zhukas [liudmila.zhukas@duke.edu]
Adam Vernon [adam.vernon@duke.edu]
Henry Luo [de.luo@duke.edu]

GRADUATE STUDENTS
Kee Wang [keewang@umd.edu]
Arinjoy De [arinjoy@umd.edu]
Jameson O’Reilly [jameson.oreilly@duke.edu]
Debopriyo Biswas [d.biswas@duke.edu]
Sagnik Saha [sagnik.saha@duke.edu]
Isabella Goetting [isabella.goetting@duke.edu]
Tingguang Li [tinggeang.li@duke.edu]
Bahaa Haaraz [bahaa.haaraz@duke.edu]
Emma Stavropoulos [emma.stavropoulos@duke.edu]
Vivian Zhang [vivian.zhang@duke.edu]
Keqin Yan [keqin.yan@duke.edu]
Ashish Kalakuntla [ashish.kalakuntla@duke.edu]
Rob Cady [rob.cady@duke.edu]

UNDERGRADUATE STUDENTS
Ashrit Verma [ashrit.verma@duke.edu]

GROUP ALUMNI

OLD GROUP PHOTOS
12/201712/20166/2015 (alternate), 4/2012, 4/2010, 2/20087/20058/20044/200312/2001

Christopher Monroe

Gilhuly Family Presidential Distinguished Professor
Departments of ECE and Physics, Duke University
Vitae (Dec2022) / Ancestry / AIP-Interview
email: [c.monroe@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2105, 2108, 2109, 2111
Office: Chesterfield 4826
Phone: 443-766-9417

Alex Kozhanov

Research Professor
Department of ECE, Duke University
email: [alexander.kozhanov@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Office:
Phone:

George Toh

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [george.toh@duke.edu]
Lab:  Chesterfield 2109
Office:
Phone:

Mikhail (Misha) Shalaev

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [mikhail.shalaev@duke.edu]
Lab:  Chesterfield 2109
Office:
Phone:

Or Katz

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [or.katz@duke.edu]
Lab:  Chesterfield 2111
Office:
Phone:

Yichao Yu

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [yichao.yu@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Lab phone:
Office:

Liudmila (Mila) Zhukas

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [liudmila.zhukas@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Lab phone:
Office:

Adam VernonProfile photo for Adam Vernon

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [adam.vernon@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2105
Lab phone:
Office:

Henry LuoHenry Luo - Postdoctoral Researcher - Duke University | LinkedIn

Postdoctoral Researcher
email: [de.luo@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2111
Lab phone:
Office:

Qinfang (Kee) Wang

Graduate Student
email: [keewang@umd.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108, 2111
Lab phone:
Office:

Arinjoy De

Graduate Student
email: [arinjoy@umd.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2111
Lab phone:
Office:

Jameson O’Reilly

Graduate Student
email: [jameson.oreilly@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2109
Lab phone:
Office:

Debopriyo (Debo) Biswas

Graduate Student
email: [d.biswas@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Lab phone:
Office:

Sagnik Saha

Graduate Student
email: [sagnik.saha@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2109
Lab phone:
Office:

Isabella Goetting

Graduate Student
email: [isabella.goetting@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2109
Lab phone:
Office:

Tingguang Li

Graduate Student
email: [tinggeang.li@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2109
Lab phone:
Office:

Bahaa Harraz

Graduate Student
email: [bahaa.haaraz@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Lab phone:
Office:

Emma Stavropoulos

Graduate Student
email: [emma.stavropoulos@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2105
Lab phone:
Office:

Vivian Zhang

Graduate Student
email: [vivian.zhang@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Lab phone:
Office:

Keqin Yan

Graduate Student
email: [keqin.yan@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2108
Lab phone:
Office:

Ashish Kalakuntla

Graduate Researcher
email: [ashish.kalakuntla@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2109
Lab phone:
Office:

Rob CadyRob Cady hiking

Graduate Researcher
email: [rob.cady@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2105
Lab phone:
Office:

Ashrit VermaAshrit Verma

Undergraduate Researcher
email: [ashrit.verma@duke.edu]
Lab: Chesterfield 2109
Lab phone:
Office:

GROUP ALUMNI

 

Name
Former Position
Current Position
Kate Collins
Grad Student (2017-2023); Undergrad Student (2014-2018)
Army Research Laboratory
Lei Feng
Postdoc Researcher; Research Scientist (2019-2023)
Fudan University
leifeng@fudan.edu.cn
Sophie Decoppet
Asst Researcher (2022-2023)
Oxford University
Drew Risinger
Grad Student (2018-2022)
Intel Corporation
Will Morong
Postdoc Researcher
(2019-2022)
Quantum Research Scientist, Amazon-AWS, Pasadena, CA
w.n.morong@gmail.com
Crystal Noel
Postdoc Researcher
(2019-2021)
Assistant Professor of ECE and Physics, Duke University
crystal.noel@duke.edu
Marko Cetina
Research Scientist
(2016-2020)
Assistant Professor of Physics, Duke University
marko.cetina@duke.edu
Patrick Becker
Grad Student
(2016-2021)
SETA, DARPA/Booz-Allen Hamilton, Arlington VA
patrick.becker.ctr@darpa.mil
Allison Carter
Grad Student
(2016-2021)
Postdoc, NIST Ion Storage, Boulder, CO
allison.carter@nist.gov
Daiwei Zhu
Grad Student(2016-2021)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
zhu@ionq.co
Abhishek Menon
Undergrad Student
(2016-2021)
Graduate Student, Rice University, Houston TX
am219@rice.edu
Sophia Scarano
Undergrad Student
(2016-2021)
Data Scientist, Booz-Allen Hamilton, Arlington, VA
scaranosophia@gmail.com
Antonis Kyprianidis
Grad Student
(2016-2021)
Postdoc, Indiana University
akyprian@iu.edu
Albert Chu
Undergrad  Student
(2016-2021)
Applications Developer, Accelered, Bethesda MD
achu@accelered.com
Wen Lin Tan
Grad Student
(2016-2021)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
tan@ionq.co
Laird Egan
Grad Student
(2017-2021)
Senior Systems Engineer, IonQ, College Park MD
egan@ionq.co
Ksenia Sosnova
Grad Student
(2015-2020)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
sosnova@ionq.co
Guido Pagano
Postdoc Researcher
(2015-2019)
Assistant Professor of Physics, Rice University, Houston, TX
pagano@rice.edu
Michael Goldman
Postdoc Researcher
(2017-2019)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
goldman@ionq.co
Harvey Kaplan
Grad Student
(2014-2019)
Engineer, Northrop Grumman, Baltimore, MD
harveykaplan129@gmail.com
Marty Lichtman
Postdoc Researcher
(2015-2019)
Senior Physicist, ColdQuanta, Madison, WI
marty.lichtman@gmail.com
Kevin Landsman
Grad Student
(2015-2019)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
landsman@ionq.com
Norbert Linke
Postdoc Researcher (2015-2018)
Assistant Professor, Duke University
norbert.linke@duke.edu
Micah Hernandez
Undergrad Student
(2015-2018)
Laboratory Technician at ANSYS, Inc., Beltsville, MD
micah124@verizon.net
Clayton Crocker
Grad Student
(2013-2018)
Quantum Engineering Solution Planner, Keysight Technologies
claycroc@gmail.com
Kristi Beck
Postdoc Researcher
(2016-2018)
Senior Physicist, Livermore National Laboratory
beck37@llnl.gov
Jiehang Zhang
Postdoc Researcher
(2015-2018)
Asst. Professor of Physics, New York University, New York City, NY
jiehang.zhang@gmail.com
Caroline Figgatt
Grad Student
(2012-2018)
Senior Advanced Physicist, Quantinuum, Broomfield, CO
cmfiggatt@gmail.com
David Wong-Campos
Grad Student
(2016-2017)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
jwongcampos@gmail.com
Steven Moses
Postdoc Researcher
(2016-2017)
Senior Advanced Physicist, Quantinuum, Broomfield CO
samoses5@gmail.com
Kai Hudek
Research Scientist (2016-2017)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
hudek@ionq.co
Paul Hess
Postdoc Researcher
(2014-2017)
Assistant Professor of Physics, Middlebury College, VT
phess@middlebury.edu
Hanna Ruth
Undergrad Student
(2016-2017)
Engineer, Draper Labs, Cambridge, MA
Ken Wright
Grad Student
(2012-2017)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
wright@ionq.co
Jason Amini
Research Scientist (2016-2017)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
amini@ionq.co
Jonathan Mizrahi
Research Scientist (2015-2017)
Director of Hardware, IonQ, College Park MD
mizrahi@ionq.co
Volkan Inlek
Grad Student
(2016)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
inlek@ionq.co
Shantanu Debnath
Grad Student
(2016)
Senior Physicist, IonQ, College Park MD
debnath@ionq.co
Kale Johnson
Grad Student
(2016)
Founder, Bite Developers, Inc. Colorado Spgs, CO
kale.gifford.johnson@gmail.com
Jake Smith
Grad Student
(2016)
Northrop Grumman, Baltimore MD
htimsjacob@gmail.com
Aaron Lee
Grad Student
(2016)
Northrop Grumman, Baltimore MD
aaron.c.lee07@gmail.com
Geoffrey Ji
Undergrad Student
(2015)
Quantitative Researcher, Citadel Securities
geoffreyji@gmail.com
David Hucul
Grad Student
(2015)
Air Force Research Laboratory, Rome NY
david.hucul@afrl.af.mil
Brian Neyenhuis
Postdoc Researcher
(2015)
Commercial Operations Group Leader, Quantinuum, Broomfield CO
neyenhuis@gmail.com
Phil Richerme
Postdoc Researcher
(2015)
Asst. Professor, Indiana University
Grahame Vittorini
Postdoc Researcher
(2015)
Senior R&D Manager, Quantinuum, Minneapolis, MN
Grahame.Vittorini@quantinuum.com
Crystal Senko
Grad Student
(2014)
Assoc. Professor, IQC and University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, CA
csenko@uwaterloo.ca
Taeyoung Choi
Postdoc Researcher
(2014)
Professor of Physics, Ewha Women’s University, Seoul, Korea
Daniel Brennan
Undergrad Student
(2014)
Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Chicago
teddanbren@gmail.com
Andrew Manning
Grad Student
(2014)

Senior Research Programmer, National Center for Supercomputing Applications
manninga@illinois.edu

Chenglin Cao
Postdoc Researcher
(2014)
Quantitative Researcher, Citadel, Chicago, IL
charlescao83@gmail.com
Jonathan Mizrahi
Grad Student
(2013)
Director of Hardware, IonQ, College Park MD
mizrahi@ionq.co
Susan Clark
Postdoc Researcher
(2013)
Physicist, Sandia National Labs, Albuquerque, NM
sclark@sandia.gov
Simcha Korenblit
Grad Student
(2013)
Physicist, Lightsolver, Tel Aviv, Israel
simcha.korenblit@gmail.com
David Hayes
Grad Student
(2012)
Principal Theorist, Quantinuum, Broomfield CO
dhayes12345@gmail.com
Ilka Geisel
Guest Grad Student
(2012)
Graduate Student, Institut für Quantenoptik, Leibniz Universität Hannover
geisel@iqo.uni-hannover.de
Rajibul Islam
Grad Student
(2012)
Assoc. Professor of Physics, IQC and University of Waterloo
krislam@uwaterloo.ca
Wes Campbell
Postdoc Resarcher
(2012)
Professor of Physics, UCLA
wes@physics.ucla.edu
Kenny Lee
Undergrad Student
(2012)
Quantum Hardware Engineer, Google, Santa Barbara, CA
kenneth.lee.iii@gmail.com
Brian Fields
Undergrad Student (2012)
Graduate Student, Purdue
bfields1132@gmail.com
Charles Conover
Guest Professor
(2011)
Professor of Physics, Colby College
charles.conover@colby.edu
Le Luo
Postdoc Researcher
(2008-2011)
Professor, Sun Yat-Sen University, Guangzhou, China
luole5@mail.sysu.edu.cn
Emily Edwards
Postdoc Researcher
(2009-2011)
Executive Director, IQUIST, University of Illinois, Urbana IL
edwardse@illinois.edu
Kihwan Kim
Postdoc Researcher
(2007-2011)
Associate Professor, Tsinghua University Dept. of Physics, Beijing, China
kimkihwan@tsinghua.edu.cn
Jon Sterk
Grad Student
(2005-2011)
Quantum Physicist, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM
jsterk@gmail.com
Grace Young
HS Student
(2009-2010)
Senior Research Engineer and Lead Scientist at Alphabet X, Mountain View, CA
calvertyoung@gmail.com
Jennifer Wang
HS Student
(2009-2010)
Google, Mountain View, CA
jen@jewang.net
Qudsia Quraishi
Postdoc Researcher
(2008-2010)
Research Fellow, Army Res. Lab.; Adjunct Professor, UMD
quraishi@umd.edu
Dzmitry Matsukevich
Postdoc Researcher
(2006-2010)
Assoc. Professor, National University of Singapore
phymd@nus.edu.sg
Ming-Shien Chang
Postdoc Researcher
(2006-2009)
Associate Research Fellow, Academia Sinica, Taipei Taiwan
msc@gate.sinica.edu.tw
Peter Maunz
Postdoc Researcher
(2005-2009)
Director, Systems Integration, IonQ, Albuquerque, NM
maunz@ionq.com
Steve Olmschenk
Grad Student
(2004-2009)
Associate Professor and Chair of Physics, Denison University
olmschenks@denison.edu
 Andrew Chew
Undergrad Student
(2006-2008)
Graduate Student, National University of Singapore
Mark Acton
Grad Student
(2003-2007)
High School Science Teacher, Deerfield Academy
macton@deerfield.edu
Elizabeth (Otto) Hamel
Undergrad Student
(2005-2007)
PhD Graduate, Stanford Univ., Palo Alto, CA
heo128@stanford.edu
Dan Cook
Undergrad Student
(2006-2007)
Undergraduate Student, University of Michigan
Yisa Rumala
Grad Student
(2006-2007)
Graduate Student, University of Michigan
Kathy-Anne (Brickman) Soderberg
Grad Student
(2002-2007)
Senior Research Scientist Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), Rome, NY
kathy-anne.soderberg@us.af.mil
David Moehring
Grad Student
(2002-2007)
General Partner, Cambium Capital
moehring@cambium.vc
Dan Stick
Grad Student
(2002-2007)
Senior Investigator, Sandia National Laboratories
dlstick@sandia.gov
Kelly (Younge) Paradis
Grad Student
(2005-2007)
Assistant Professor or Radiation Oncology, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor MI
David Hucul
Grad Student
(2003-2006)
Air Force Research Laboratory, Rome NY
david.hucul@afrl.af.mil
Mark Yeo
Undergrad Student
(2004-2006)
Graduate Student, JILA (Jun Ye)
Martin Madsen
Grad Student
(2001-2006)
Senior Software Engineer and Physicist, Veda Inc., Fishers, Indiana
madsen.mj@gmail.com
Rudolph Kohn, Jr.
Undergrad Student
(2003-2006)
Space Dynamics Laboratory, Albuquerque, NM
rudy.kohn@sdl.usu.edu
Louis Deslauriers
Grad Student
(2001-2006)
Director of Science Teaching and Learning, Harvard University Dept. of Physics
louis@physics.harvard.edu
Patricia Lee
Grad Student
(2000-2005)
Chief Scientist, Quantinuum, Broomfield
Patricia.Lee@quantinuum.com
Paul Haljanmailto:patty.j.lee@gmail.com
Postdoc Researcher
(2003-2005)
Associate Professor of Physics, Simon Fraser University
phaljan@sfu.ca
Winfried Hensinger
Postdoctoral Researcher
(2002-2005)
Professor, University of Sussex, Department of Physics
W.K.Hensinger@sussex.ac.uk
Boris Blinov
Postdoc Researcher
(2001-2005)
Professor, University of Washington Department of Physics
blinov@uw.edu
James Rabchuck
Visiting Professor
(2003-2005)
Professor of Physics and Dean, Western Illinois University
JA-Rabchuk@wiu.edu
Russell Miller
UGrad Student
(2001-2003)
MIT Lincoln Laboratory